Update!

Standard

Hmmmm, turns out being in labor is no picnic.  The pain of the contractions got really intense.  Norie and I tried moving and massage to get through the pain, but that didn’t help either, so Norie went ahead and got the epidural.

I had to leave while this happened because apparently some fathers (a.k.a. pansies) pass out watching the process.  I’m dead inside, so I’m sure I would have been fine, but I left nonetheless.  When I stepped out, Norie was in pain, breathing heavy, and hating life.

When I got back, she looked like this:

Now I'm wondering if I can have an epidural, just 'cause.

Now I’m wondering if I can have an epidural, too, just ’cause.

The nurse decided to give Norie some oxygen just to make sure the baby’s heart rate doesn’t drop.  Nothing to worry about – routine precaution.  I didn’t want to post a picture of Norie in a mask, but it looks pretty much like this:

There's no way we were getting through the day without at least one Star Wars reference.

There’s no way we were getting through the day without at least one Star Wars reference.

In the meantime, Norie’s family visited for a bit:

Hours away from become a grandmother.

Hours away from becoming Grandma Gauthier.

They had to step out when the pain set in, and Norie’s mom was growing too tired to stay, but they’ll all get plenty of Evie time soon.

Soon!

One response »

Leave a Reply

